St. Augustine was founded in 1888 and continues to operate as a vibrant parish in the Bay View neighborhood.
The interior features unique double barrel vaults. Original stain glass windows illustrating biblical stories are in beautiful condition. A baldacchino altar from 1935 serves as the focal point. Ornate stations of the cross were obtained from Cudahy’s Holy Family Church (now closed). They were restored and installed in 2017.
The steeple has three bells which were installed in 1914. The large bell is named “Mary & Augustine.” The smaller bells are named “Joseph” and “Peter”. While the bells have always tolled the quarters and top hour, the steeple did not originally have clock faces. A four-faced clock was installed in 2006.
Saint Augustine’s Church has been well preserved for over 110 years. Saint Augustine remains true to its original architectural design & style. The congregation was founded by German immigrants and is one of the most significant, historical landmarks in the Bay View neighborhood.
St. Augustine was founded in 1887 and continues to operate as a vibrant Catholic Church.
2530 S Howell Ave
12:00 pm - 5 pm
Photography, Video, Tripods Permitted
1st floor only