One of the oldest and largest Lutheran sanctuaries in Milwaukee, this church is an example of high Victorian Gothic architecture with old world craftsmanship.
St. John’s on the Hillside is a church of the Wisconsin Evangelical Lutheran Synod (WELS) founded in 1848. The church building was designed by H. Paul Schnetzky and Eugene R. Liebert. It was erected in 1889 and dedicated in 1890. In addition to its tremendous size, some notable features inside the sanctuary are the hand-carved altar and pulpit from Germany, the eagle lectern imported from Germany, the baptismal font, stained glass windows, and the beautiful organ to name a few. St. John’s on the Hillside still worships on Sundays at 10:00 AM and has recently received a new pastor, Isaac Hayes, to serve the congregation in their ministry to the Hillside and downtown community.
Visitors will experience a welcoming group excited to host them at a historical and beautiful church. Visitors will be given a handout for a self-guided tour and there will be volunteers available for directions and questions. As visitors enter the church, they will also be welcomed with the sounds of our beautiful organ.
The two-story altar and pulpit were hand carved in Germany. This sanctuary was designed by Herman Paul Schnetzky and Eugene R. Liebert and dedicated in 1890. The Milwaukee Cream City brick structure was built to seat nearly 1200. The spires measure 197 feet and 147 and the taller spire includes a four-sided Schwalbach clock now being restored. The congregation, founded in 1848, continues to worship in this building every Sunday.
804 W Vliet St
11 am - 5 pm
12 pm - 4 pm
Photography, Video, Tripods Permitted