In 1957, the War Memorial Center was dedicated “To Honor the Dead by Serving the Living.”
750 N Lincoln Memorial Dr
10 am - 5 pm
Photography, Video, Tripods Permitted
Fully wheelchair accessible
Explore the War Memorial Center on your own and enjoy military history displays or customize your visit with one of these tour options:
1-hour in-depth guided tours of the building to learn about our landmark building and our mission to Honor the Dead, Serve the Living. Includes areas not open to the general public. Tour times: 11 am, 1, 3 pm. Meet inside Mason Street entrance.
30-minute guided tours, staggered to complement the Milwaukee Art Museum tours for a back-to-back tour of our combined campuses. MAM tours 12, 1, 2, 3 pm; War Memorial Center tours: 12:30, 1:30, 2:30, 3:30 pm. Meet inside Mason Street entrance.
All visitors will enjoy one-day-only Doors Open balcony access for an up-close look at the stunning Lewandowski mural on the west facade of the War Memorial Center. Kids will enjoy our collection of authentic military uniforms and equipment, plus a photo scavenger hunt.
Eero Saarinen’s War Memorial Center
[source: Milwaukee Art Museum art blog]
After World War II, Finnish architect Eliel Saarinen was commissioned to create an arts complex on the Lake Michigan shore, with a museum, performing arts center, and veterans’ memorial. After the architect died in 1950, his son Eero Saarinen took over the project. When fundraising proved insufficient, Saarinen reconfigured the plan without the performance space. Construction began in 1955, supervised by Milwaukee architects Maynard W. Meyer & Associates.
Eero Saarinen’s innovative design for the War Memorial Center was influenced by the abstract geometry of modern French architect Le Corbusier. Saarinen incorporated many of Le Corbusier’s ideas: lifting the bulk of a building off the ground on reinforced columns; eliminating load-bearing walls to allow a freeform façade and open floor plan; and using plazas, courtyards, and rooftop terraces to allow an interaction between internal and external spaces.
The building, a concrete, steel, and glass cruciform floating on a pedestal, included three major components, as Saarinen described: “One is the base, which builds the mass up to the city level and contains an art museum; the second, on the city level, is the memorial court with a pool…. The court is surrounded by the polyhedron-shaped piers, which support the building and also make frames for the breathtaking views of the lake and sky. The third part is the superstructure, cantilevered outward thirty feet in three directions, which contains the meeting halls and offices of the veterans’ organizations.”
The western face of the building features a memorial mural by Wisconsin artist Edmund Lewandowski, a mosaic of 1.4 million pieces of marble and glass. The original Museum had a dramatic entryway from the central courtyard, with stairs down to three large exhibition galleries. A 1975 addition designed by David Kahler greatly expanded the Museum’s gallery space.